Business of Startups
yesterday's slides: http://j.mp/slides-ntu
yesterday's code: http://j.mp/code-ntu (day1 directory)
My Story
Startup Lifecycle
Startup Economics
Startup Trends
Further Reading
My Story
2006
http://paulgraham.com/mit.html
http://paulgraham.com/startupmistakes.html
PG's tips for startups
People over product
Iteration over perfection
Great execution over great idea
"Build something people want"
Scratch your own itch
Launch fast/fail fast
Y Combinator
8 startups in Summer 2005 to 84 startups in Summer 2012
http://yclist.com/
Dropbox, AirBnb: $10 billion
17 acquisitions for over $10 million
http://news.ycombinator.com
http://startupschool.org/
Noteleaf
Start X
Demo Day
VC
Employee #30 at Coursera, founded by Dahpne Koller and Andrew Ng (Raffles grad)
Sold to Apple for $20M
Sold to SalesForce
Acquihired by Yahoo
Game Closure's Start X class
13 companies
4 acquisitions
3 series A rounds
Startup Life Cycle
Pre-existence Stage
Bootstrapping:
running on savings or day-job
Boostrapped business:
37 Signals
"bootstrapped, profitable, and proud"
Early stage
Get incorporated, divide equity
Incubator, accelerator
YC standard: $120k for 7% equity ($1.7M)
Challenge:
gather evidence for business model (100 users)
Funded stage
Seed round: $50,000 - $2 million
Friends & family + angel investors
Angel list
Kickstarter:
Oculus Rift, Soylent, Pebble
Challenge:
initial traction (10,000 users)
Middle Stage
Series A: $2 million - $20 million
Series B: $10 million - $60 million
About 20% of seed funded startups get series A
Each round takes ~20% of equity
Risk reduces each round: about half at this stage fail
Challenge:
scale traction (1,000,000 users)
Profit Stage
Don't
need
more money to stay alive
May raise money anyway to grow and lock in competitive advantage (Github's $100M)
Challenge:
own the market
Exit
Acquihire: Posterous -> Twitter (~$7 million)
Acquisition: Heroku -> Salesforce.com ($250 million)
IPO: Google (raised $1.67 billion at $23 billion valuation)
Never, stay private: 37 signals
Die... ~80% startups
Startup Economics
A great tech company
Creates lots of value
Lasts a long time
Captures some of the value it creates
Peter Thiel
Power law
YC: top 2 companies (from over 500) = ~90% of YC returns
Peter Thiel: top 1 company worth as much as rest of Founders Fund 2005
VC Challenge: Don't miss the big hits!
http://blakemasters.com/post/21869934240/peter-thiels-cs183-startup-class-7-notes-essay
Marc Andreesen
4,000 companies look for VC funding every year
400 get funded by top-tier VC
15 account for 90% of returns
Okay to invest in lots of losers for one 1,000x winner
The "Unicorn Club"
39 billion-dollar US tech companies in the last 10 years
http://techcrunch.com/2013/11/02/welcome-to-the-unicorn-club/
Peter Thiel's startup sweet spot
"what important truth do very few people agree with you on?"
http://blakemasters.com/peter-thiels-cs183-startup
Own your market
Avoid competitive markets - ex. Restaurants
Valuable startups have a
competitive advantage
brand (clothing, colas)
scale cost advantages (Amazon.com)
network effects (twitter)
or proprietary technology (Paypal fraud detection)
Total Addressable Market
Who cares if you own a market if it is tiny...
example: US Advertising $144B/year
Customer Acquisition
CLV = customer lifetime value
ARPU = avg. revenue per user per month
r = retention rate (per month)
ACL = average customer lifetime = 1 / (1 - r)
CPA = cost per acquisition
CLV = ARPU * ACL * gross margin
if CLV > CPA, then spend!
Exponential Growth
"rule of 72" - doubling period is 72 / growth rate
doubling adds up quick!
http://www.paulgraham.com/growth.html
Virality
K-factor: how many new users does a new user bring in
K-factor over 1 for true viral growth
Viral cycle: how fast does it happen
see: http://www.forentrepreneurs.com/lessons-learnt-viral-marketing/
Retention
Change in 90-day retention reflect the health of the business
Other health metrics: Monthly Active Users, Daily Active Users, DAU / MAU
Stock Options
Typically, founders keep 80% of equity and award 20% to employees
Typical 1st employee: 1.0%. 20th employees: 0.1%
Working at a startup vs. founding - better salary, less risk, less equity
But to be Facebook millionaire, only needed 0.001% of company
Most grants vest over four years
Startup trends
Early stage funding growth
http://techcrunch.com/2013/11/19/the-startup-accelerator-trend-is-finally-slowing-down/
Series A crunch
http://tech.co/series-crunch-demystified-2013-12
Software is eating the world
Phrase coined by Marc Andreesen
Software startups taking over non-software industries: Uber(taxis), Homejoy(home cleaning), Amazon(book stores)
Previously: music, entertainment, telephony, retail, advertising, classified ads, encyclopedias, maps
Possible future: entire financial industry (bitcoin), education (coursera), health (distance medicine), contract law (ethereum), travel (Occulus), taxi/trucking/railway (self-driving cars)
Mobile is eating the startup world
http://www.businessinsider.com/smartphone-and-tablet-penetration-2013-10
Breakthrough technologies
"Sci Fi" tech
Bitcoin, Artificial Intelligence, drones/robotics, 3D printing, VR, applied genetics, living forever...
Calico, Google X, Elon Musk, YC request for breakthrough startups: http://blog.samaltman.com/new-rfs-breakthrough-technologies
Hardware is back
Due to crowd funding platforms (kickstarter, indiegogo) and easy to use prototyping hardware (arduino)
ex. Occulus, Pebble, Soylent
Internationalization of startups
YC taking startup school global
22 companies in last batch
Books about founders:
Founders at Work
In the Plex
Steve Jobs
The Hard Thing about Hard Things
Zero to One (or the Thiel lecture notes: http://blakemasters.com/peter-thiels-cs183-startup)
Hackers and Painters
The Tinkerings of Robert Noyce